History of Watergrasshill GAA Club

Club Founded 1928

The Watergrasshill hurling club was founded in 1928 and after years of hard luck and near misses in both A and B grade divisional championships there luck turned and the boys in the vivid Red and White jerseys were crowned Divisional Junior B Grade Hurling Champions in 1947.

After they defeated Dooneen Rovers a local derby final a second championship was attained five years later against Lisgoold in 1952, and a third title was attained in the same grade in 1968 after we defeated Fr O’ Neills comprehensively in the decider on a team captained by our very own Eamon Ryan.

However the greatest day in the history of the “hill” came on an August evening in 1974 when a gallant band of lads tore the form book shreds when against all the odds they overcame hot favourites Cloyne in the divisional A Grade Hurling Championship final by a margin of 5 points in Midleton to bring the famous Jamsey Kelleher Cup to the Hill for the inaugural occasion.

Encouraged by their fabulous achievement the team went from strength to strength and once again proved superior to Aghabullogue , Delany’s and Charleville in the county final to capture the blue riband of Cork County Junior A grade Hurling Championship, which crowned a fantastic year for Watergrasshill GAA.

Following the later triumph, the hill were promoted to Intermediate status and after a number of years participating in the higher grade, they won the Liam Breathnach Cup in 1979 defeating Carrigtwohill in the final in Riverstown.

As well as the aforementioned triumphs, Watergrasshill have also been successful at underage ranks winning a huge number of Divisional leagues and Championship titles. To add to the Feile na Gael County Under14B Hurling in 1995 and Under 12 County in 1997 at Championship level, plus County Minor Hurling league honours in 1998 and Divisional Minor A Grade Champs in 2001.

Further adult Championship honours were attained by our junior B grade hurlers who captured three championship titles in there grade in 1997, 1999 and 2001 while two further A Grade Junior Hurling Championship crowns were captured in the millennium year of 2000 and in 2003 and on the 24th of October 2004 we were crowned Intermediate A Grade Hurling Champions.

The club possesses a fine playing field and complex in Condonstown Watergrasshill named the Felix Sarsfield Memorial Park which commemorates a great gael and former club and divisional board officer.

The venue has hosted a number of County Senior, Intermediate, and Junior as well as underage championship and league finals down through the years and we hope to keep going for many more years.


Club Lotto