Rebel Og East WGH Under14 Cahampions   05/09/2014

Watergrasshill were crowned Champions in Rebel Og U14 B East Championship
following impressive win over gallant Saint Catherines team on 25th August
in Castlemartyr.   Both teams now go forward to County Semi Finals and
await winners from North and West divisions.

This is the second success for Watergrasshill lads following Feile na Gael
county win in April.  The Hill team had to line out without the services of
our outstanding full back Eoin Desmond and we wish Eoin a speedy recovery
from his recent injury.

Credit to St. Catherines they began well and were leading by two points
after 10 minutes.   However once the Hill boys settled there was always
only going to be one winner in this contest.  This was a great overall team
performance.   The Hill won comprehensively in the end by a scoreline of
5-14 to 2-5.  Cathal Fitzgerald and the Hill fullback line of Tim Dennehy,
Conor Geary and Mark O'Riordan were rock solid all through this game. Shane
O'Reilly and Ciaran O'Leary never put a foot wrong alongside Man of the
Match Colin Cronin who was outstanding at Centre Back.   The Hill
completely dominated midfield from the excellent pairing of Gavin Gowen and
Daire O'Leary.   Christy Graham continues to impress in each game at Centre
Forward with his powerful running.  Sean Desmond was excellent all through
and bagged 3 goals on the night.  The fearless outstanding Shane O'Regan
played a roaming role to devastating effect at wing forward.

 Cillian Roche  and Eoin Foley one of the youngest players on team worked
tirelessly throughout and the powerful Padraig O'Leary one of the real
leaders of this team bagged two goals at full forward.   The new exciting
talented James O'Leary was introduced at half time and helped himself to 3
points.   Shane O'Regan,  Sean Desmond, Padraig O'Leary, James O'Leary,
Christy Graham, Daire O'Leary, Rob McKenna all getting on the scoreboard.

The hill substitutes Rob McKenna, Dylan Power, Jake O'Brien, John
O'Driscoll, Colm Curtin , Dylan McCarthy,  Daire Leahy , Ger Heffernan,
Gary Doyle all their part on route to this success.

Big thanks to Watergrasshill Premier Intermediate players Anthony Cronin,
Pa Cronin and Aiden Foley for coaching and selection into this team.

Selectors: Mossie Cronin & Joe O'Riordan


Club Lotto