RESULTS   23/07/2018

U21 Hurling Championship Full Time Result:
Watergrasshill 4-10
Carrigtwohill 4-20

County Junior Hurling League
Watergrasshill 2-16
O Donovan Rossa 0-14

U16A Hurling Championship Semi-final

Watergrasshill 3-15 Keale Gaels 3-14

Watergrasshill 2-16 (22) St Finbarr's 3-15 (24).
Heartache at Delaney's last night as our Minors lost out in Championship by a two-point margin to the 'Barrs.
Two early goals gave the lads a big mountain to climb but they dug deep and fought back with a huge work rate to level the game at half-time. The second half was extremely intense with both teams scoring and replying keeping the game in the melting pot to the end and we were unlucky to lose out by two points at the final whistle.
Huge team effort, but in particular by Shane O'Regan, who had a phenomenal game scoring some incredible scores from frees and play and gave a remarkable physical performance. 
Huge thanks and credit to Mossie Cronin and Willie O'Leary for preparing the team.
Squad: Cathal Fitzgerald, Dylan Power, Rob McKenna, Cormac Linehan, Ciarán O'Leary, Garry Doyle, Daire O'Leary, Seán Desmond, Cael Guichard, Padraig O'Leary, Mark O'Riordan, Cillian Roche, Shane O'Regan, Mark O'Donoghue, Gavin Gowen and James Barry.

The Hill continue their winning streak today with both Intermediate Hill teams fighting for victory in the final of the 9 aside Thurles Sarsfield tournament .
Congratulations to Hill Team B managed by Eddie Enright winning the competition outright on his home turf!
Commiserations to Team A who put up a great fight under the management of Peter Cody !

U14 A Hurling league semi final
Watergrasshill 2-15 : 1-12 Killavullen (AET)

In a pulsating encounter in sun soaked Shanballymore (that's not said very often), our U14s made it to the league final, overcoming an excellent Killavullen team after extra time. The Hill started slowly and struggled to deal with a very good Killavullen team from the first whistle. Trading scores at the start of the game, Killavullen took control moving into a 3 point lead before Dylan Roche scored a goal to level scores. Killavullen went straight down the other end and scored a goal themselves and followed it up with another point, taking a 4 point lead into half time on a scoreline of 1-02 to 1-06.
The team really upped their performance in the second half, clawing back the lead. A goal by Darragh Casey brought The Hill to within a point. From there both teams traded scores and the lead changed hands on a few occasions, with The Hill keeper Fionn Fitzgerald pulling off some marvelous saves to keep the team in it. The referee called time with the teams locked at 2-07 to 1-10.
The draw meant extra time and the team really dug in to try and force the victory. The Hill opened the scoring in the first half of extra time but two quick points from Killavullen meant they were one point down with 5 minutes to play. Three points in succession meant Watergrasshill lead 2-11 to 1-12 going into the second period of extra time. From there the team never looked back scoring 4 points in the second period as Killavullen struggled to contain Watergrasshill running attacks. The referee blew the final whistle with Watergrasshill through to the league final by 6 points.
With the way the game see sawed it wouldn't have been a surprise if either team won after 60 minutes and both teams deserve great credit for the way they played the game in such heat. 
Panel for Watergrasshill
Fionn Fitzgerald, Mike O Driscoll (0-01), Joseph O Riordan, Rory Leahy, Donnacha Forde, Donal Sheehan, Ciaran O Leary (0-03), Colm O Regan (0-04), Brendan Lehane (0-07, 3 frees), Darragh Casey (1-0), Cian Cronin O Neill, Bobby Kelleher, Liam Casey, Dylan Roche (1-0), Donagh Burke, Ryan Loftus
Mentors: Derek Casey, Andrew O Callaghan, Donal Lehane

U13 Rebel Óg County Final
Watergrasshill 2-15 (21) Eire Óg 2-03 (9).
Our U13s travelled to 4G Astro pitch at Pairc Ui Chaoimh this morning to play Eire Og in the U13 Rebel
Óg County Final.
The lads were thrilled to use the dressing rooms used by the Cork senior players and get the chance to play in the new complex.
With many players on holidays and with all the normal management team away, the team were managed by Colman O’Driscoll, helped out by Dave Kelleher, Billy Loftus, Mark Dennehy and Dan Linehan.
The game was 20 minutes a side and the Hill started well going ahead 0-3 to 0-1. We pushed on but had a high percentage of wides and Eire Óg played some smart hurling and were rewarded with a goal and a point. Half-time we were behind by a point 1-02 to 0-04. The timing of half-time can have a big impact on a game and in this case it suited Watergrasshill, giving us time to reassess our performance, refocus some players and allowing Colman O’Driscoll deliver a rousing motivational speech.
We got the dream start to the second half, scoring a goal in the first minute and building on this by a further point from the puc-out. In the space of 90 seconds, we went from one point down to three points up and this gave the momentum to the Hill.
The boys found their mojo and built with some super points to see the game out 2-15 to 2-03.
The Cup was accepted by the Captain, Sam Dennehy, who thanked Rebel Óg, Pairc Ui Chaoimh, Eire Óg for a great game and the management team who got them to the final and particularly the management team on the day.
Colman O’Driscoll said he was delighted at how the boys played and was thrilled to have the honour of bringing home the first piece of silverware to Watergrasshill Hurling Club from the redeveloped Pairc Ui Chaoimh. “To score 2-11 in a 20-minute second half and concede two scores in that half shows the work rate of the lads, their willingness to dig in and fight for a win - real hard work by the entire squad”
Team: Fionn Fitzgerald, Donnacha Forde, Conor Hurley, Ryan Loftus, Cian Cronin-O’Neill, Ciarán Linehan, Sam Dennehy (captain), Michael O’Driscoll, Ciarán O’Leary, Liam Foley, Sean O’Mahony, Bobby Kelleher, Donagh Burke, Rory Leahy, Coran O’Neill and Darragh Ó Bric.
Thanks to the parents who gave wonderful and vocal support to the team on the day.


Club Lotto