Watergrasshill GAA Club News   15/04/2014

Book Launch

A history of Gaelic games in Watergrasshill/ Glenville parish will be launched on the 25th of April. This book chronicles Gaelic games in the parish from 1885 to 2012. It includes chapterson hurling, football, camogie, ladies football and Scor along with many other items of GAA and social interest. It also reproduces many photographs of teams and club members perhaps not seen before.

Putting such a book on the market was a huge task for the authors and the research involved was extensive. A large number of club members were interviewed and these pieces provide a perspective on both their history in the game and its influence on themselves and the wider community.
The history has been written by four club members, Danny O Farrell, Siobhan Curtin, Jerry Mackey and Frank Halbert.
The book will be launched by Eamon Ryan at 8.00pm in the MidletonPark Friday 25th of April


The Lotto was held this week in The Fir Tree Bar, the jackpot of 4350e was won by John O Connell. The winning numbers were 4,9,11,26. Congratulations John from all in theWatergrasshillGaa Club. 30e winners were Martina O Leary, Patsy Moloney, The Hill Ladies Football c/o Liz O Neill & Louis Murphy . Next weeks venue is O’Mahoneys bar and the jackpot will be 1,500e.


Minor Hurling League Vs Bride rovers in Rathcormac at 6pm on Sunday 20th
U16 Hurling VsBallinora in Watergrasshill on Monday April 28th
Feile B Final Watergrasshill Vs Newcestown in Ballinlough at 12.15 on Saturday 19th April


U11 Hurling League, Group 4.St. Catherines Vs. Watergrasshillin  Ballynoe.

Final Score: St. Catherines 3-5 to 0-0 Watergrasshill

Watergrasshill U11's came up against a very strong St. Catherines outfit in their first league game of the year. The game was settled as a contest very early as St. Catherines dominated possession and the score board from the outset and were very good value for their victory. The lads will certainly improve and will learn great things from the game.  Watergrasshills best performers on the day were Ben Whelan, Andrew Chandler, Eoin Fitzgerald and Brendan Lehane.

Squad: Mark O' Donoghue, Ryan O' Mahony, Ben Whelan, Andrew Chandler, Colin O' Keefe, Ben O' Sullivan, Darragh O' Callaghan, Kyle Furney Kelly, Eoin Fitzgerald, Darragh Casey, Brendan Lehane, Colm O' Regan, Joseph O' Riordan, Ryan Murray, Sam Dennehy and Michael O' Driscoll.

U8 Hurling Blitz.

WatergrasshillVs. Lisgoold

WatergrasshillVs. St. Catherines.  Ballynoe, 

Watergrasshill U8's played two games in the U8 blitz at Ballynoe on Saturday.  Great fun was had by all, and some fantastic skills were on display from the outset.  The future of Watergrasshill hurling is safe, if the performances on Saturday is anything to go by.  Each and everyone of the lads played fantastically well.

Squad: David O' Connor, Adam Broderick, Donnacha Forde, Liam Casey, Ethan Bowman, Shane O' Callaghan, Conor O' Mahony, Fionn Fitzgerald


U7 Hurling Blitz. Watergrasshill Vs. Killeagh

Watergrasshill Vs. Castlelyons.  Ballynoe,

Watergrasshill U7's played two games in the blitz at Ballynoe on Saturday.  There was a great turnout with 13 players in the squad. Each and every one of the lads can hold their heads high at two great hurling displays. They did the 'Hill proud.

Squad: Seán Buckley, Jacob O'Sullivan, Isaac Higgins, Jack Counihan, Liam Kelleher, Fionn Doyle, Eoin Forde, Billy Lynch, Adam Hennessey, Colm Murray, Seán Foley, Conor McHugh, Mike O'Riordan

Feile B Semi Final WatergrasshillVsTracton

Final Score: Wgh 6-3 to 0.4

Watergrasshill Played Tracton in the Feile B semi final last Sunday in Passage west. A great result for all involved .Many thanks to all the selectors & players who have contributed to this achievement. The final takes place on Saturday at 12.15 in Ballinlough against Newcestown.Please come along and give your support !!

U16 hurling WatergrasshillVsLisgoold

Final Score :Watergrasshill 2-7 to Lisgoold 1-10

Watergrasshill had their second league outing away to Lisgoold on Friday April 11. From the off Lisgoold were sharp throughout the field and struck a succession of scores including a goal on sixteen minutes. The ‘Hill had points from Thomas Dinan and Aaron Collins and a goal from Cathal Maloney for the first half. The exceptional form of Shane O Regan in the ‘Hill goal was critical in preventing further scores from a useful Lisgoold attack. The half time score read Watergrasshill 1 – 2  Lisgoold 1 – 10. After midfielder Thomas Dinan had a point for the ‘Hill in the  fourth minute to open the second half scoring it heralded the ‘Hills best period of the game with Aaron Collins striking four points before he added a goal on eighteen minutes. Lisgoold meanwhile were keeping the scoreboard ticking over and they produced a strong finish. The final score for the ‘Hill was a long range point from Jason Power on twenty five minutes.

Watergrashill’s next fixture sees them at home to Ballinora on Monday April 28.

Panel : Shane O Regan, Cathal Maloney, Sean O Driscoll,ChrisHealy,NeilMeehan,BillyKennedy,JohnathonNoonan,AaronCollins,LukeMcCarthy,Andrew Dorgan, Greg O Sullivan Magner,JasonPower,JamesGowen,ThomasDinan,Dylan McCarthy.


Club Lotto